SPECIAL PV Workshop - Save the Date!

Space Photovoltaics for Energy Conversion in extra-terrestrIAL environment

  • From 11/23/2021 to 11/24/2021
  • Free of charge

Since Vanguard 1 satellite, the first spacecraft to use solar panels back in 1958, space photovoltaics (PV) have been strongly improved from the initial single junction low efficiency silicon solar cells to the high efficiency III-V compound multi-junction solar cells. For such specific space applications, the driving force is still the long-term reliability, particularly considering radiation resistance, while improving the conversion efficiency and increasing the power-to-mass ratio. However, space conquest is currently intensified with new applications to become reality, such as satellite constellations, and overall costs have to be minimized in the course of space PV standardization.

The 1st edition of the SPECIAL PV Workshop will focus on PV cells and arrays designed for space applications with the latest research and industrial results presented by highly skilled experts of the field. Four sessions and one round table will take place virtually during two half-days, addressing the latest research topics of Space PV cell & arrays manufacturing, as well as their reliability and durability through indoor accelerated ageing tests and thermo-mechanical simulations.

Credits: ESA-NASA

This event is financed and promoted through the ECoVEM European project which aims at establishing a transnational cooperation platform of Centres of Vocational Excellence in Microelectronics working on the synergies between both the education and industrial sectors by fostering the development of technological and entrepreneurial skills for the new jobs in microelectronics, including photovoltaics. This project has received funding from the European Union’s ERASMUS+ programme (Grant Agreement n° 620101-EPP-1-2020-1-BG-EPPKA3-VET-COVE).

The RadHard European project co-coordinates the SPECIAL PV Workshop. The RadHard consortium aims to combine the most radiation hard III-V materials to form a highly efficient four-junction space solar cell via direct wafer bonding. RadHard receives funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 Research and Innovation Programme (Grant Agreement n°EU/821876).

This workshop provides an informal, unclassified, international forum for the exchange of ideas and information on space photovoltaic cells and arrays. Addressed to researchers, industrials, academics and students. Free of charge.

Due to the COVID situation uncertainty, this 1st edition will be an online-only event.

​​​​​​​Session topics (Full program coming soon)

1 |High efficiency III-V solar cells 

2 |Advanced concepts for radiation hardness

3 | III-V solar arrays for space applications

4 | Towards standardization of Space PV: Reliability, durability and low cost 

Q&A timeslots and interactive round table are also scheduled

More info

2 half days – Online (2-6 pm-CET)

Free of charge, compulsory registration 

Share this event
LinkedIn
WhatsApp
Website made with  et  éco-conçu pour diminuer son empreinte environnementale.
Angle Web, Website eco-design in Savoie

SPECIAL PV Workshop - Save the Date!

Space Photovoltaics for Energy Conversion in extra-terrestrIAL environment

  • Du 23/11/2021 au 24/11/2021
  • Gratuit

Depuis le lancement en 1958 du satellite Vanguard 1, le premier engin spatial doté des panneaux solaires, les systèmes photovoltaïques (PV) spatiaux ont été fortement améliorés, passant des cellules solaires en silicium à simple jonction et à faible rendement jusqu'aux cellules solaires multijonctions III-V à haut rendement. Pour de telles applications spatiales spécifiques, la force motrice reste la fiabilité à long terme, en particulier concernant la résistance aux rayonnements, tout en améliorant le rendement de conversion et en augmentant le rapport puissance/masse. Cependant, la conquête spatiale s'intensifie actuellement avec de nouvelles applications qui deviennent réalité, telles que les constellations de satellites, et les coûts globaux doivent être minimisés dans le cadre d'une industrialisation à grande échelle du PV spatial.

La 1ère édition du workshop SPECIAL PV se concentrera sur les cellules et panneaux PV conçus pour les applications spatiales avec les derniers résultats de recherche académique et industrielle présentés par des experts hautement qualifiés du domaine. Quatre sessions et une table ronde se dérouleront virtuellement pendant deux demi-journées, abordant les sujets de recherche les plus récents concernant la fabrication des cellules et des panneaux PV spatiaux, ainsi que leur fiabilité et leur durabilité par le biais de tests de vieillissement accéléré en laboratoire et de simulations thermomécaniques.

Cet événement est financé et promu par le projet européen ECoVEM ECoVEM European project qui vise à établir une plateforme de coopération transnationale de Centres d'Excellence Professionnelle en Microélectronique travaillant sur les synergies entre les secteurs de l'éducation et de l'industrie en favorisant le développement de compétences technologiques et entrepreneuriales pour les nouveaux emplois en microélectronique, y compris le photovoltaïque. Ce projet a été financé par le programme ERASMUS+ de l'Union européenne (Grant agreement n° 620101-EPP-1-2020-1-BG-EPPKA3-VET-COVE).

Le projet européen RadHard RadHard European project coordonne le workshop SPECIAL PV. Le consortium RadHard a pour objectif de développer les matériaux III-V les plus résistants aux rayonnements pour former une cellule solaire spatiale à quatre jonctions à très haut rendement. RadHard est financé par le programme de recherche et d'innovation Horizon 2020 de l'Union européenne (Grant agreement n°EU/821876).

Ce workshop propose un forum d'échange international, avec des résultats non confidentiels, sur les cellules et les panneaux photovoltaïques spatiaux. Il s'adresse aux chercheurs, aux industriels, aux universitaires et aux étudiants. Gratuit.

En raison de l'incertitude de la situation du COVID, cette 1ère édition sera un événement uniquement en ligne.

Sujets des sessions (programme complet à venir)

1 - Cellules solaires III-V à haut rendement 
2 - Concepts avancés pour la résistance aux rayonnements
3 - Panneaux solaires III-V pour applications spatiales
4 - Vers l'industrialisation du PV spatial : Fiabilité, durabilité et faible coût 

Questions/réponse et table ronde seront également au programme

Plus d'info

2 demi journées – Online (14h-18h CET)

Accès gratuit, inscription obligatoire

Cet évènement se tiendra en anglais.

Partager cet événement
LinkedIn
WhatsApp
Site Internet fabriqué avec  et  éco-conçu pour diminuer son empreinte environnementale.
Angle Web, Écoconception de site Internet en Savoie